Violet is built with an API first approach, meaning every action within Violet is performed against the API. Apps allow you, a developer, to gain access and utilize this API.


Creating Your First App

We’ve made the process of creating an application in Violet very simple. To create an app simply follow these steps.

  1. Login to your Violet account at my.violet.io. If you do not yet have a Violet account please first sign up at my.violet.io/signup.
  2. Go to the Apps section by hovering over the page title and clicking ‘Apps’.
  3. Click on the new app creation box.
  4. Give your app a name and click the next arrow. This name can be changed later.
  5. Thats it! Your application has been created and you can immediately begin using the API.

Managing Your Apps

Apps can be managed from the Violet dashboard.

Renaming Your App

You are free to rename your app(s) as often as you like. From the App list in your Violet dashboard click on the app you would like to rename. From the app details screen click on the small toggle in the upper left corner of the app card to open your app controls. Clicking the 'Edit Name' button will render the name update field. Enter the desired name and click the arrow to persist the change.

🚧

Changes to your app name will propagate immediately. If the updated name is not recognizable to the merchants who have enabled your app it is possible that they will uninstall it. Be sure to notify any merchants of any upcoming name changes to prevent this.

Deleting Your App

From the App list in your Violet dashboard click on the app you would like to delete. From the app details screen click on the small toggle in the upper left corner of the app card to open your app controls. Clicking the 'Delete' button will ask you to confirm that you wish to delete your app. Clicking 'Yes' will permanently delete your app. Clicking 'No' will close the controls and return you to the app details screen.

❗️

App deletions are permanent. Once your app is deleted your API keys will immediately stop working. You will loose access to all data related to the app including access to historical order data. Be sure you truly want to delete your app before deleting.